IEEE 1722-2011 was approved as a standard on May 6, 2011

IEEE 1722-2011 defines encapsulations for a variety of media formats and associated synchronization mechanisms

The P1722 working group has been formed to create a revision to IEEE 1722-2011

For questions on the IEEE P1722 Working Group, contact the Working Group Chair, Dave Olsen.

The P1722 Working Group Vice-Chair is Matthew Xavier Mora.

The P1722 Working Group Editors are Jeff Koftinoff and Aaron Gelter.

The IEEE P1722.1 Working Group is defining an upper layer Discovery, Enumeration, Connection and Control standard

For questions on the IEEE P1722.1 Working Group, contact the Working Group Chair, Matthew Xavier Mora.


For a list of contributed presentations, click here.

For the latest draft of P1722, click here.

For the 1722 private area, click here.

For the IEEE Std. 1722 drafts area, click here.

Email reflector

For information on joining (or leaving) the AVB Transport Protocol Working Group email reflector, click here.

The AVBTP email archive can be accessed here.

Meeting Information

  • The P1722 Working Group holds weekly phone conferences on Mondays at 10:00 a.m. Pacific/Los Angeles time.

    Phone bridge: +1-877-909-2019 or +1-847-593-2019, Meeting ID: 804 186 909

  • The IEEE P1722 and P1722.1 Working Groups will hold a face-to-face meeting on Tuesday June 23rd 2015.

    Meetings will be located at:

    National Instruments Mopac Campus
    11500 North Mopac Expressway
    Austin Texas 78759

    We are on the Southbound side of the highway.

    We will be meeting in our Building C (8 story building). The entrance is around the back of the building and there is visitor parking at ground level beside the parking garage.    Folks will need to register at the front desk and get a visitor badge.

    Airport access is Austin-Bergstrom Internation Airport (AUS)

    Convenient hotels:
    All 4 of these options are convenient. Across the highway from NI in a mixed shopping/dining/residential area (called the Domain) designed for walking around.
    ALoft (NI rate $129) - highly recommended.

    Lone Start Court (NI rate $125) -new hotel in the Domain.

    LaQuinta, (NI rate $99) -Technically not in the Domain but walkable and right next to WholeFoods.

    Westin (20% off) - higher end

    Other options can be found here:
    Select "by city" and then select "Austin" to get options to show up

    The F2F is being sponsored by National Instruments

    Please RSVP to, Dave Olsen

    Send requests for p1722 presentation time to David Olsen
    Send requests for p1722.1 presentation time to Matt Mora


More information on Audio/Video Bridging (AVB) can be found at the AVB Working Group website.

IEEE Patent Policy

IEEE Patent Policies for required committee use in .pdf and .ppt formats.

The P1722 Working Group Policies and Procedures can be found here.