Approved minutes 40 Gb/s and 100 Gb/s Fiber Optic TF Consensus Ad Hoc

Teleconference 25 July 2013

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:04 am Pacific chaired by Dan Dove, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bm/public/consensadhoc/meetings/index.html

Dan reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Presentation #1

Title: Consensus Ad Hoc

By: Dan Dove, Applied Micro See dove_01_0713_cons

During the presentation, John D'Ambrosia pointed out that different levels of approval are required for the different parts of the project documentation:

• Objectives: 802.3 WG

• 5C responses: 802.3 WG and 802 EC

PAR: 802.3 WG, 802 EC and Standards Board

John also pointed out that for the note on page 19, a call for interest (CFI) would be required to increase the scope of the 400GbE project to include 100G PMDs.

In discussion after the presentation, no changes other than those shown in the slides were proposed.

Tom asked if the Ad Hoc could be used to discuss the possibility of adopting more than one new SMF PMD. Dan responded that such a discussion would be within the Ad Hoc's scope and invited presentations on the topic. Pete pointed out that if this was to happen, then we would also need to adopt a new Distinct Identity response that justified why this was "not two solutions to a problem".

The meeting closed at 9:10 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Cisco

Brad Booth, Independent
Martin Bouda, Fujitsu
Derek Cassidy, BT
Frank Chang, Inphi
Chris Cole, Finisar
John D'Ambrosia, Dell

Piers Dawe, Mellanox

Stephen Docking, PMC-Sierra
Dan Dove, Applied Micro
Arash Farhood, Cortina
Kiyo Hiramoto, Oclaro
Jonathan King, Finisar

Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric

David Law, HP Dave Lewis, JDSU

Weiqi Li, Photop Technologies

Arlon Martin, Kotura

Rich Mellitz, Intel

Dale Murray, LightCounting

David Ofelt, Juniper

Tom Palkert, Xilinx, Luxtera, Molex

Rick Pimpinella, Panduit

Salvatore Rotolo, ST Microelectronics

Yasuo Sasaki, TE Connectivity

Tek-Ming Shen, Huawei Xiaolu Song, Huawei Ted Sprague, Infinera Kiyoto Takahata, NTT Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity
Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Brian Welch, Luxtera

CK Wong, FCI Yu Xu, Huawei Li Zeng, Huawei