Approved minutes P802.3bs 400 Gb/s Ethernet SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 18 November 2014

Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 7:30 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list plus any e-mail notifications of attendance.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: http://www.ieee802.org/3/bs/public/adhoc/smf/index.shtml

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with it. No one responded.

Pete asked if anyone had any objection or additions to the draft agenda sent to the group reflector on 18 November. There were no objections.

Pete asked if anyone had any corrections to the draft minutes from the 14 October call. No one responded, so these minutes are approved by the Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1

Title: Further thoughts and inputs on 400Gb/s Ethernet SMF PMDs

Presenter: Peter Stassar, Huawei See stassar_01_1114_smf

During discussion of the presentation, Peter was asked what mapping of the PRBS15 sequence to PAM4 symbols was used and what the RIN of the optical source was for the reported measurements. Peter responded that he will try to obtain this information.

Presentation #2

Title: Performance Results: High Gain FEC over DMT

Presenter: David Lewis, JDSU
See corbeil_01_1114_smf

During the presentation, it was pointed out that the FEC code used in the experiment used interleaving to achieve very high burst tolerance with a consequent increase in latency. Pete pointed out that while it is within the mandate of the SMF Ad Hoc to discuss "how the SMF proposals may impact other aspects ... such as ... FEC", discussion of the tradeoff between burst tolerance and latency of the adopted FEC scheme is appropriate for the Logic Ad Hoc.

Pete also reminded the group that the Task Force adopted schedule has the milestone for adopting baselines to meet the SMF objectives in the January meeting.

The meeting closed at 8:50 am Pacific.

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list)

Pete Anslow, Ciena William Bliss, Broadcom Martin Bouda, Fujitsu David Brown, Semtech

Matthew Brown, Applied Micro (AMCC)

Chris Cole, Finisar Dan Dove, Huawei Mike Dudek, Qlogic Chad Erven, Semtech

Ali Ghiasi, Ghiasi Quantum LLC

Joel Goergen, Cisco Mark Gustlin, Xilinx Hideki Isono, Fujitsu

Kenneth Jackson, Sumitomo Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Paul Kolesar, CommScope

David Law, HP

David Lewis, JDS Uniphase Jeffery Maki, Juniper Beck Mason, JDSU Marco Mazzini, Cisco

Thomas McDermott, Fujitsu

Paul Mooney, Spirent

Dale Murray, LightCounting

Gary Nicholl, Cisco

Rick Rabinovich, Alcatel-Lucent

R K Rannow, APIC Ram Rao, Oclaro

Salvatore Rotolo, STMicroelectronics

Itaru Sakabe, Sumitomo Sam Sambasivan, AT&T Dan Sparacin, Aurrion Peter Stassar, Huawei Tomoo Takahara, Fujitsu Toshiki Tanaka, Fujitsu Alan Tipper, Semtech

Nathan Tracy, TE Connectivity

Stephen Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent

Alexander Umnov, Fujitsu Xinyuan Wang, Huawei

Zhongfeng Wang, Broadcom

Yangjing Wen, Huawei

Yu Xu, Huawei