IEEE Home Search IEEE Shop Web Account Contact IEEE IEEE
Membership Publications Services Standards Conferences Careers/Jobs
IEEE-SA IEEE-SA Member Area Search our standards database for Abstract, Sponsor, Status, Contact,Ordering and Historical information. IEEE-SA Standards Association
   Text Size: Small Text Normal Text Larger Text




   Minutes (after 2011)

   Minutes (before 2011)

   Presentation files

IEEE 1900.1

IEEE 1900.2

IEEE 1900.3

IEEE 1900.4

IEEE 1900.5

IEEE 1900.6

IEEE 1900.7

Ad hoc on DSA-VE

Meeting Information

Cognitive Radio Information Center


IEEE DySPAN Standards Committee (DySPAN-SC)

Formerly IEEE Standards Coordinating Committee 41 (SCC41)

Future Face-to-Face Meetings

(a detailed calendar for future meetings, including information on telephone conferences, is available on the meeting information page)

  • [DySPAN-SC] 9 - 11 March 2017, Baltimore, MD, USA
    Collocated with IEEE DySPAN 2017
    Sessions schedule will be provided soon; registration link here

Call for Proposals

The IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee (DySPAN-SC) is seeking proposals for standards projects in the areas of dynamic spectrum access, cognitive radio, interference management, coordination of wireless systems, advanced spectrum management, and policy languages for next generation radio systems. DySPAN-SC is particularly interested in ideas that could be implemented in commercial products in the near to medium term.


The IEEE P1900 Standards Committee, DySPAN-SC's predecessor, was established in the first quarter 2005 jointly by the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) and the IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Society. The objective of the effort was to develop supporting standards dealing with new technologies and techniques being developed for next generation radio and advanced spectrum management.

On 22 March 2007, the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board approved the reorganization of the IEEE 1900 effort as Standards Coordinating Committee 41 (SCC41), "Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks (DySPAN)". The IEEE Communications Society and EMC Society were supporting societies for this effort, as they were for the IEEE 1900 effort.

IEEE SCC41 was approached by the IEEE ComSoc Standards Board (CSSB) in late 2010, as ComSoc Standards Board was extremely interested in SCC41 being brought back directly under its wing. SCC41 voted to be directly answerable to ComSoc in December 2010, and was thereby renamed as IEEE DySPAN-SC. At its December 2010 Meeting, the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board (SASB) approved the transfer of projects from SCC41 to CSSB.


The scope of the DySPAN-SC includes the following:

  • dynamic spectrum access radio systems and networks with the focus on improved use of spectrum,
  • new techniques and methods of dynamic spectrum access including the management of radio transmission interference, and
  • coordination of wireless technologies including network management and information sharing amongst networks deploying different wireless technologies.

Additional Information


Hiroshi Harada, Ph.D.

Oliver Holland, Ph.D.

Alex Lackpour, Ph.D.
IEEE DySPAN-SC Secretary

Working Group Contacts

Francesco Benedetto, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.1 Working Group Chair

H. Stephen Berger, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.2 Working Group Chair

Masayuki Ariyoshi, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.4 Working Group Chair

Matthew Sherman, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.5 Working Group Chair

Oliver Holland, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.6 Working Group Chair

Oliver Holland, Ph.D.
IEEE 1900.7 Working Group Acting Chair

Copyright 2006-2016 IEEE DySPAN-SC
(R. Venkatesha Prasad, Kentaro Ishizu, Oliver Holland)