Jump to IEEE LOM Standard Maintenance/Revision

Position Statement on 1484.12.1 - 2002 Learning Object Metadata (LOM) Standard Maintenance/Revision

The IEEE Learning Technology Standards Committee (LTSC) has been providing for the development and maintenance of the Learning Object Metadata (LOM) standard since 1997. This process has been and continues to be an international effort with the active participation on the LOM Working Group by members representing more than 15 countries. Most recently, June 12, 2002, this resulted in the first IEEE accredited standard to be completed by LTSC, the 1484.12.1 LOM data model standard. This is the first of a multi-part standard for Learning Object Metadata, which LTSC LOM is responsible for maintaining, developing and evolving. This responsibility is being fulfilled by current work on bindings of the data model standard and includes developing further versions of the data model standard.

The IEEE LOM standard has been well received, recognized and adopted internationally, however adoption of the standard is in its early stages. For this reason, the LTSC is interested in avoiding any conditions that create the perception or reality of conflicting or multiple standards being developed for the same purpose. Furthermore, any additional metadata work should take current implementations into consideration to avoid creating unnecessary interoperability issues.

Therefore the Learning Object Metadata working group proposes that similar activity concerning the scope and purpose of its efforts continue to be coordinated through the Learning Technology Standards Committee. The IEEE LTSC deeply appreciates the expression of interest in cooperation by all interested parties such as those expressed by ISO/IEC JTC1/SC36 and equally appreciates the excellent technical comments made by SC36 members. The IEEE LTSC therefore invites the participation of members of national bodies represented in SC36 in the maintenance and revision of the LOM standard and is committed to facilitating this.

approved 10 December 2002
Copenhagen, Denmark