ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 22/WG 23/N 0432
Draft Minutes: Meeting #24
ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 22/WG 23: Programming Language Vulnerabilities
12-14 December 2012

Meeting Times:

Three hours each day, starting at 17:00 Germany, 16:00 UK, 11:00 US-east coast, 8:00 US-west coast, 6:00 US-Hawaii, and 1:00 Japan

12 December 2012: 08:00 am to 11:00 am (US-west coast)
13 December 2012: 08:00 am to 11:00 am (US-west coast)
14 December 2012: 08:00 am to 11:00 am (US-west coast)

Meeting Location:

This is a web/teleconference only meeting

Teleconference information:

Topic: WG 23 Meeting #24
Date: Every 1 day, from Wednesday, December 12, 2012 to Friday, December 14, 2012

17:00 Germany
16:00 United Kingdom
11:00 New York
08:00 California
06:00 Hawaii
01:00 Japan

Meeting Number: 951 970 652
Meeting Password: wg23

To start or join the online meeting, go to iso_meetings

To receive a call back, provide your phone number when you join the meeting, or call the number below and enter the access code.

Switzerland toll free: 0800-894627
USA/Canada toll free: 1-855-299-5224

Having trouble dialing in? Try these backup numbers:

Call-in toll-free number (UK): 0800-051-3810
Call-in toll number (UK): +44-20-310-64804
Global call-in numbers: iso_meetings call-in numbers
Toll-free dialing restrictions: toll-free restrictions

Access code: 951 970 652

For assistance:

1. Go to iso_meetings support
2. On the left navigation bar, click "Support".
To add this meeting to your calendar program (for example Microsoft Outlook), click this link: iso_meetings to calendar


1. Opening activities

1.1 Opening Comments

1.2 Introduction of Participants/Roll Call

John Benito - Convener
Larry Wagoner- US
David Keaton - US, HoD
Tom Plum - US
Erhard Ploedereder - WG 9
Clive Pygott - UK, HoD
Kazuyoshi Korosue - Japan
Tatsuaki Takebe - Japan, HoD
Stephen Michell - Canada, HoD

1.3 Procedures for this Meeting

The normal procedures for teleconferences will be use.

1.4 Approval of previous Minutes [N 0420]

1.5 Review of actions items and resolutions, Action Item and Decision Logs

23-01 — Remains Open, WG 21 will meet in June of 2014, this AI will be reworded to match the WG 21 schedule. WG 21 will meet 16-21 June 2014
23-02 — Remains Open
23-03 — Closed
23-04 — Closed
22-02 — Closed
22-03 — Remains Open
22-12 — Remains Open

1.6 Approval of Agenda [N 0430]

1.7 Future Meeting Schedule

WG23 #28 2013-12 Web conference  
WG23 #27 2013-09 Tokyo, Japan WG23 meeting co-located with SC22 plenary meeting. It was reported by Tatsuaki Takebe that the meeting is to be held in Toyko, the hotel recommended would be the Shiba Park Hotel. Dates for Plenary are 17-18, WG 23 19-21 of Sept 2013
WG23 #26 2013-06 Berlin, DE Co-located with WG 9, Ada Europe  
WG23 #25 2013-03-13/15 New York, USA - ANSI See [N0374]  

2. Reports on Liaison Activities

2.1 SC 22

ISO is conducting a trial to evaluate if the CD stage is necessary, JTC 1 has chosen not to participate.

2.2 PL22.3/WG5 (Fortran)

WG 5 has an internal ballot running on their language specific annex, should let us know in the next month or so on when we can expect a contribution.

2.3 PL22.4/WG4 (COBOL)

No report

2.4 WG9 (Ada)

Ada has a new Standard, used a new process that allowed WG 9 to complete the process in 9 months.

2.5 PL22.11/WG14 (C)

WG 14 had a meeting in October in Portland
An editorial meeting is scheduled for 17-18 of December for final comments before PDTS ballot on the working draft of 17961
A new work item proposal for the C binding to IEC 60559:2012 is currently in ballot

2.6 PL22.16/WG21 (C++)

No report

2.7 Ecma International, TC49/TG2 (C#)

No report

2.8 Ecma International, TC39 (ECMAScript)

No report

2.9 MISRA (C)

Still moving through the publication process, looking a first quarter of 2013 to publish.

2.10 MISRA (C++)

No report

2.11 SPARK

No report, the current liaison is no longer active, Erhard took an AI to locate another point of contact or liaison for the SPARK effort.

2.12 SC7/WG19 (UML)

No report

2.13 Other Liaison Activities or National body reports


3. Document Review

NOTE: The DTR ballot will still be active, this meeting will be used to review documents not related to the 2nd edition of TR 24772.

4. Other Business

4.1 Promotion of WG23 Products, Steve Michell, per Action Item #21-6

The Convener reported that a link to the freely available TR 24772:2010 is on the MITRE Making Security Measurable at MSM reference.
We still need to work on making the freely available document visible.

5. Resolutions


6. Adjournment

Convener thanked everyone for attending and contributing to this project.