TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE

Insulation Life Subcommittee

Insulation Life Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review methods to determine maximum safe insulation temperatures, ambient temperatures, insulation aging characteristics, safe duration of loads in excess of nameplate (including short circuits) and also to determine methods of calculating or measuring temperatures reached during both transient and steady state loads.
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair

Bruce Forsyth

Southwest Electric Company

Oklahoma City, OK 

U.S.A.

Phone: (405) 622-8816

E-Mail: bruce.forsyth@ieee.org

Vice-Chair

Barry Beaster

ABB Kuhlman

Crystal Springs, MO

U.S.A.

Phone: (601) 892-6439

E-Mail: blbeaster@ieee.org

Secretary

Eric Davis

Burns & McDonnell

Kansas City, MO

USA

Phone: (816) 822-3925

E-Mail: edavis@burnsmcd.com

SC Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Spring 2014 Agenda   posted 11Mar2014

See Transformers Committee Minutes for previous SC Minutes

Previous SC Meeting Discussions/Topics

Spring 2012 Presentation on Aging   posted 03Apr2012

Proposed New WG on High Temperature TRs  posted 16Mar2008

Tie-plate Insulation Limits  posted 16Mar2008

Working Groups/Task Forces

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair / Vice Chair

Documents – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Current Draft

WG/TF Webpage / Documents

IEEE 1276

IEEE Guide for the Application of High-Temperature Insulation Materials in Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers

Active

Approved 2012

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Mike Franchek - Chair

Phone: (802) 751-3539

mfranchek@weidmann-systems.com

.

.

IEEE 1538

IEEE Guide for Determination of Maximum Winding Temperature Rise in Liquid Filled Transformer

Inactive

Reaffirmed 2011

Rev. Due: 12/31/2021

.

Bruce Forsyth- Chair

Phone: 405-622-8816

bruce.forsyth@ieee.org

.

.

C57.12.90, Clause 11

Temperature Rise Test

Active

WG

Paulette Payne Powell - Chair

Phone: (410) 245-8473

papayne@ieee.org

Juan Castellanos - Vice Chair

Phone: 52-818-030-2231

juan.castellanos@ge.com

Marnie Roussell - Secretary

Phone: (504) 463-7316

mbroussell@ieee.org

.

C57.12.90 Clause 11 Web Page

Spring 2012 Presentation by Valery Davydov posted 17Mar2012

C57.91

IEEE Guide for Loading Mineral-Oil-Immersed Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2011

Rev Due: 12/31/21

.

Don Ducket - Chair

Phone: (407) 942-9401

don.duckett@pgnmail.com

.

.

C57.100

IEEE Standard Test Procedure for Thermal Evaluation of Liquid-Immersed Distribution and Power Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2011

Rev Due: 12/31/21

.

Roger Wicks - Chair

Phone: (804) 383-3300

roger.c.wicks@usa.dupont.com

.

WG - C57.100 Web Page

C57.119

IEEE Recommended Practice for Performing Temperature Rise Tests on Oil Immersed Power Transformers at Loads Beyond Nameplate Ratings

Inactive

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/18

.

Subhash Tuli - Chair

Phone: 414 477 6669

subhash.tuli@ieee.org

.

.

PC57.145

Guide for the Definition of Thermal Duplicate Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers

Inactive

Previously P1524

PAR Withdrawn

.

.

.

.

C57.154

Design, Testing and App of Liquid-Immersed
Transformers with High-Temp Insulation

Active

Approved 2012

Rev. Due: 12/31/2019

PAR Exp.: 12/31/13

WG

Richard Marek - Chair

Phone: (804) 383-2376

Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com

.

.

PC57.162

Interpretation of Moisture Related Parameters

Active

WG

Tom Prevost - Chair

Phone: (800) 664-2766

tprevost@ieee.org

Valery Davydov - Vice Chair

valery.davydov@ieee.org

Deanna L Woods

Phone: (217) 497-1855

deannawoods@alliantenergy.com

.

Spring 2014 Agenda posted 17Mar2014

Fall 2013 Minutes posted 17Mar2014

Fall 2013 Presentation by Valery Davydov posted 13Nov2013

New Moisture Guide - Tech Con Asia Pacific 2012 by Valery Davydov posted 13Nov2013 special password required

Spring 2012 Presentation by Valery Davydov posted 17Mar2012

TF

Winding Temperature Indicators

Active

TF

Phil McClure - Chair

Phone: 954-755-7111 x 212

phil.mcclure@ieee.org

WTI Paper-D12 posted 14May14 committee PW required for access

.

Past TF

Furans

Inactive

.

.

.

.

Furan Report, Final Draft: posted 4Apr2011

 

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 14-May-2014

IEEE prohibits discrimination, harassment and bullying.  For more information, visit http://www.ieee.org/web/aboutus/whatis/policies/p9-26.html