Performance Characteristics Subcommittee

Performance Characteristics Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review the treatment of loss, impedance, exciting current, inrush current and other performance characteristics and their methods of application, measurement or test for liquid filled transformers and reactors.

  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair:

Ed teNyenhuis

Technical Manager

ABB

Brampton, ON, Canada

Phone: (905) 460-3210

E-Mail: edt@ieee.org

Vice Chair:

Craig Stiegemeier

Technology Director

ABB Inc. TRES North America

St. Louis, MO USA 

Phone: +1 (314) 679-4568

E-Mail: craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org

Secretary:

Sanjib K. Som

Principal R&D Engineer

Siemens Industry, Inc.

Pittsburgh, PA  USA

Phone: +1 (724) 472-7809

E-Mail: sanjib.som@siemens.com

SC Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Spring 2016 PSC Agenda  Posted 10Mar2016 

Previous SC Meeting Discussions/Topics

 

Working Groups/Task Forces

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair / Vice Chair

Documents – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Current Draft

WG/TF Webpage / Documents

P60076-16

Standard Requirements for Wind Turbine Generator Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

Philip Hopkinson - Vice Chair

Phone: (704) 846-3290

phopkinson@hvolt.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

P60076-16 Working Clean Posted 28Oct2015

P60076-16 Working Mark-ups Posted 28Oct2015

P60076-16 Web Page

TF to C57.12.00 Continuous Revision WG

IEEE Standard General Requirements for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers

Active

TF

Tauhid H. Ansari - Chair

314- 420-8597

tauhid.ansari@us.abb.com

Enrique Betancourt - Secretary

ebetanco@ieee.org

.

TF C57.12.00 Web Page

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Test Code

Active

TF

Mark Perkins  - Chair

Phone: (314) 679-4836

mark.perkins@us.abb.com

Craig Stiegemeier - Secretary

Phone: (314) 679-4568

craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org

.

Spring 2016 Agenda Posted 15Mar2016

Fall 2015 C57.12.90 WG Minutes  Posted 15Mar2016

C57.12.90 Section 9.5 zero seq with Modifications  Posted 14Mar2013

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Section 13 - Sound Level Measurement

Active

TF

Ramsis Girgis  - Chair

Phone: (314) 679-4803

ramsis.girgis@us.abb.com

Barry Beaster - Secretary

Phone: (636) 677-3421 x392

blbeaster@ieee.org

.

Fall 2014 TF Minutes  Posted 28MAR2015

C57.18.10 IEEE Standard Practices and Requirements for Semiconductor Power Rectifier Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2009

Rev. Due: 1/30/2019

.

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

. .

C57.21

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Test Code for Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Active

Approved 2008

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

Par Exp.: 12/31/18

.

Sanjib Som- Chair

Phone: (724) 472-7809

sanjib.som@siemens.com

Arturo Del Rio - Secretary

Phone: (416) 298-8108 x404

Arturo.delrio@trench-group.com

. .

PC57.32

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices

Active

Approved 1972

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

WG

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

Fred Elliott - Secretary

Phone: (360) 418-2269

felliott@ieee.org

PC57.32 D13
posted 22Oct2014

AIEE Transaction - Temperature Limits for Short-Time Overloads for Oil-Insulated Neutral Grounding Reactos and Transformers II    posted 11Dec2012,  password required

Heating of Transformers Under Short-Circuit Conditions   posted 10Dec2012,  password required

IEEE Transaction - Temperature Limits for Short-Time Overloads   posted 11Nov2012,  password required

AIEE Transaction - Standardization of Ratings of Neutral Grounding Reactors   posted 11Nov2012,  password required

AIEE Transaction - Development of the Stnd for Neutral Grounding Devices   posted 11Nov2012,  password required

C57.105

IEEE Guide for Application of Transformer
Connections in Three-Phase Distribution Systems

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019

.

Adam Bromley - Chair

Phone: (970) 221-6673

abromley@fcgov.com

Rogerio Verdolin - Vice-Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

.

.

C57.109

IEEE Guide for Liquid-Immersed Transformers
Through-Fault-Current Duration

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019

.

Vinay Mehrotra- Chair

Phone: (262) 547-0121 x1353

Vinay.Mehrotra@spx.com

Jason Varnell - Secretary

Phone: (919) 221-9793

jason.varnell@spx.com

.

.

C57.110

IEEE Recommended Practice for Establishing Transformer Capability When Supplying Nonsinusoidal Load Currents

Active

Pub. 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018

.

Richard Marek - Chair

Phone: (804) 383-2376

Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com

Samuel L. Sharpless - Secretary

Phone: (407)-257-0209

slsharpl@rimkus.com

C57.110 D1 posted 17Apr2015

C57.110 D1 Annex D posted 17Apr2015

 

 

C57110 Webpage

C57.120

IEEE Loss Evaluation Guide for Power
Transformers and Reactors

Active

Reaffirmed 2006

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2016

WG

Rogerio Verdolin - Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

Rod Sauls - Vice-Chair

Phone: (205) 257-4143

RESAULS@southernco.com

PC57.120 D15   posted 13Mar2016

Spring 2016 PC57.120 WG Agenda   posted 11Mar2016

Spring 2016 PC57.120 WG Membership   posted 11Mar2016

Spring 2015 PC57.120 WG Minutes   posted 11Mar2016

C57.123

IEEE Guide for Transformer Loss Measurement

Inactive

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 6/17/2020

.

Ed TeNyenhuis - Chair

Phone: (519) 837-4691

ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com

.

.

PC57.133

Guide for Short-Circuit Testing of Distribution and Power Transformers

Inactive

Rev. Due: 12/31/2019

PAR Withdrawn

.

Marcel Fortin - Chair

Phone: 450-922-0925

fortin.marcel@ieee.org

.

.

C57.136

IEEE Guide for Sound Level Abatement and Determination for Liquid- Immersed Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Inactive

Reaffirmed 2005

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Withdrawn

WG

Steve Antosz - Chair

Phone: (412) 498-3916

santosz@comcast.net

.

.

C57.142

A Guide To Describe The Occurrence And Mitigation Of Switching Transients Induced By Transformer-Breaker Interaction

Inactive

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 12/8/2020

.

Bob Degeneff - Chair

Phone: (518) 276-6367

degenr@rpi.edu

 

.

.

C57.149

Guide for the Application and Interpretation of Frequency Response Analysis for Oil Immersed Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2012

Rev. Due: 12/31/2022

.

Charles Sweetser - Chair

Phone: (781) 672-6214

charles.sweetser@omicronusa.com

. .

PC57.158

Guide for the Application of Tertiary and Stabilizing Windings in Power Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Enrique Betancourt - Chair

Phone: (52-80)-30-2135

enrique.betancourt.ramirez@indsys.ge.c

PC57.158 Draft 5B   posted 15Mar2016

WG C57.158 Web Page

PC57.159

Guide for Application in Distributed Photovoltaic(DPV) Transformers in Power Generation Systems

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Hemchandra M. Shertukde - Chair

Phone: (860) 768-4847

Shertukde@hartford.edu

Mathieu Sauzay - Vice Chair

Phone: 33478778164

Mathieu.Sauzay@jst-transformers.com

Aleksandr Levin- Secretary

Phone: (802) 751-3352

aleksandr.levin@wicor.com

PC57.159 D6.1  posted 08Dec2015

WG C57.159 Web Page

TF

Core Gassing and Grounding

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

.

Fall 2014 TF Agenda Updated 04Oct2014

Summary PCS Comments posted 30Sep2014

TF Meeting Minutes:

22Aug2014 Minutes

01Aug2014 Minutes

11Jul2014 Minutes

06Jun2014 Minutes

TF

C57.142 - HV & EHV Transients

Active

 

TF

Jim McBride - Chair

Phone: (770)460-6626

jim@jmxservices.com

Tom Melle - Chair

Phone: (919) 917-8157

tom.melle.us@ieee.org

. Spring 2016 HV & EHV Transients Paper posted 22Mar2016

Spring 2016 TF Agenda posted 22Mar2016

Fall 2015 TF Minutes - Memphis posted 22Mar2016

TF

Short Circuit Design Criteria

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

. Fall 2015 TF Agenda posted 23Sep2015

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 23-Mar-2016