TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE

Power Transformers Subcommittee

Power Transformers Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review power transformers and reactors with particular attention to service requirements of installations in the western United States and Canada.
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such products.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair:

Joe Watson

ZTZ Services, Inc.

USA

Phone: (561) 371-9138

E-Mail: joe_watson@ieee.org

Vice-Chair:

Bill Griesacker

Doble Engineering Company

85 Walnut Street

Watertown, MA  02472  U.S.A

Phone: 412-264-3266

E-Mail: bgriesacker@doble.com

Secretary:

Kipp J. Yule

Bechtel Power Corp

5275 Westview Drive

Frederick, MD 21703-8306, USA

Phone: (301) 228-6624

Email: kjyule@bechtel.com

Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Spring 2014 Agenda   Updated 17Mar2014

Previous Meeting Discussions/Topics

 

Working Groups

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair (C), Vice-Chair (VC), Secretary (S)

Available Downloads – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Document or Current Draft

References or
WG/TF Webpage

C57.12.10

Revision of C57.12.10, 230kV and Below Safety Requirement

Inactive

Publ.: Corr. 2012

Par Exp.: 12/31/17

Due: 12/31/2020

 .

Garry Hoffman - Chair

Phone: (973) 474-2171

grhoffman@advpowertech.com

.

.

C57.17

Revision of Requirements for Arc Furnace Transformers

Active

Publ.: Orig IEEE Std. 17

Due: 12/31/2022

WG

Robert Ganser - Chair

Phone: (330) 492-8433

rganser@ieee.org

.

.

C57.93

Revision of IEEE Guide for Installation and Maintenance of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers

Active

Publ.:

Par Exp.: 12/31/16

Due: 12/31/2018

WG

Mike Lau - Chair

Phone: (604) 224-9343

mike.lau@wicor.com

.

C57.93 Web Page

PC57.116

Revision of Guide for Transformers Directly Connected to Generators

Active

Publ.: 2005

Par Exp.: 12/31/15

Due: 12/31/2018

WG

Garry Hoffman - Chair

Phone: (973) 474-2171

grhoffman@advpowertech.com

Draft 2.1

Draft 1.4

.

PC57.125

Revision of Guide for Failure Investigation, Documentation, Analysis and Reporting for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors

Active

Publ.: Will replace C57.117

Par Exp.: 12/31/15

Due: 12/31/2018

WG:

Wallace Binder - Chair

Phone: (724) 654-3839

wbbinder@ieee.org

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

John Roach - Secretary

 Phone: (860) 722-5125

John_Roach@hsb.com

C57.125 D5.1 Posted 04Mar2014

C57.125 Web Page

C57.131

IEEE Standard for Load Tap Changers

Inactive

Publ.: 2012

Due: 12/31/2022

 .

.

.

.

C57.135

Revision of Guide for the Application, Specification and Testing of Phase-Shifting Transformers

Inactive

Publ.: 2001

IEEE/IEC Dual Logo 2005, IEC 62032 Ed. 1

Due: 12/31/2021

WG

Jin Sim - Chair

jin.sim@ieee.org

.

.

PC57.140

Revision of Guide for Evaluation and Reconditioning of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers

Active

Publ.: 2006

Par Exp.: 12/31/15

Due: 12/31/2018

WG

Rowland James - Chair

Phone: (504) 252-9675

r.james@ieee.org

C57.140-2006 Special Password Rqrd.

Draft 2

Spring 2013 Agenda 08Mar2013

Fall 2012 Minutes 08Mar2013

Fall 2011 Assignments

Fall 2011 Proposed Revisions

PC57.143

Development of Guide for Application of Monitoring to Liquid-Immersed Transformers and Components

Inactive

Publ.: 2013

Due: 12/31/2023

.

Donald Chu - Chair

chud@coned.com

.

Ballot Complete

C57.148

IEEE Standard for Control Cabinets for Power Transformers

Inactive

Publ.: 2011

Due: 12/31/2021

 .

Joe Watson - Chair

joe_watson@ieee.org

.

.

PC57.150

Development of Guide for the Transportation of Transformers and Reactors Rated 10,000kVA or Larger

Inactive

Publ.: 2012

Due: 12/31/2022

WG

Greg Anderson - Chair

gwanderson@ieee.org

.

.

PC57.153

Development of Guide for Paralleling Transformers

Active

Publ.: New Project

Par Exp.: 12/31/14

WG

Tom Jauch - Chair

Phone: (813) 634-1422

jauch@ieee.org

PC57.153 D9.2 Posted 18Mar2014

Spring 2014 Minutes Posted 05Jun2014

PC57.156

Development of Guide for Transformer Tank Rupture Mitigation of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers and Reactors

Active

Publ.: New Project

Par Exp.: 12/31/15

WG

Peter Zhao - Chair

Phone: (416) 345-5926

peter.zhao@hydroone.com

Draft 2  Posted 08Jul2014

Spring 2014 Minutes Posted 05Jun2014

F11 TIB Presentation 14Nov2011

PC57.157

Development of Guide for Conducting Functional Life Tests for De-Energized Tap Changer Contacts

Active

Publ.: New Project

Par Exp.: 12/31/15

WG

Phil Hopkinson - Chair

Phone:  (704) 846-3290

phopkinson@ieee.org

Adam Sewel - Secretary

Phone:  330-872-5707

adamsewell@qualityswitch.com

Draft 5.1 11Marr2014

C57.157 Web Page

IEEE 638

Revision of IEEE Standard for Qualification of Class 1E Transformers for Nuclear power Generating Stations

Active

Publ.: 2006

Par Exp.: 12/31/13

Due: 12/31/2018

WG

Craig Swinderman - Chair

Phone: (901) 566-3801

craig.swinderman@meppi.com

.

.

IEEE/IEC 60076-57-12

Development of Standard Requirements for Phase Shifting Transformers

Active

Publ.: New Project

Par Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Raj Ahuja - Chair

Phone: (510) 979-4888

raj.ahuja@spx.com

.

Spring 2014 Minutes Posted 05Jun2014

Fall 2012 Overview  24Oct2012

Special PW required for WG access only for the following documents:

IEC 60076-1{ed3.0}b  29Nov2012

IEC 60076-3{ed2.0}b  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.12.00-2010  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.12.90-2010  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.135-2011  29Nov2012

 

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 08-Jul-2014

IEEE prohibits discrimination, harassment and bullying.  For more information, visit http://www.ieee.org/web/aboutus/whatis/policies/p9-26.html