Call for Contributions on IEEE Project 802.16f:

Management Information Base (MIB) for IEEE 802.16-2004 Deadline: 20 August 2004



The IEEE 802.16 Working Group has drafted a Project Authorization Request (PAR) P802.16f to develop a new amendment to IEEE Standard 802.16-2004. The PAR proposal, sponsored by IEEE 802, was recommended for approval on 2 August by the New Standards Committee (NesCom) of the IEEE-SA Standards Board. Final approval by the Board is currently pending and expected to be granted by 12 August 2004.

The PAR <<u>http://ieee802.org/16/docs/04/80216-04_34r3.pdf</u>> is entitled "Amendment to IEEE Standard for Local and Metropolitan Area Networks - Part 16: Air Interface for Fixed Broadband Wireless Access Systems - Management Information Base" It has the scope:

This document provides enhancements to IEEE Standard 802.16-2004 to define a management information base (MIB) for the MAC and PHY and associated management procedures.

The IEEE 802.16 Working Group's new Network Management (NetMan) Task Group <<u>http://WirelessMAN.org/netman></u> has been assigned to develop the draft. The NetMan Task Group intends to create a first draft by the end of Session #33 <<u>http://WirelessMAN.org/meetings/mtg34></u> and open a Working Group Letter Ballot thereafter.

This Call for Contributions requests input relevant to the draft.

Contributions will be considered non-confidential and will be posted for public access on the IEEE 802.16 Web Site <<u>http://WirelessMAN.org</u>>. Contribution document naming format will follow the standard IEEE 802.16 naming convention using 'f' for the project designation, with the format 'C802.16f-04/ij'.

Submit your contribution by the **deadline of 20 August 2004** following the instructions at <<u>http://WirelessMAN.org/submit.html</u>>. Make use of the "NetMan" upload directory <<u>http://netman.WirelessMAN.org</u>>.

For further information, contact one of the following:

- NetMan Task Group Chair: Phillip Barber <mailto: barber@broadbandmobiletech.com>
- NetMan Task Group Vice Chair: Itzik Kitroser <mailto:itzikk@runcom.co.il>
- NetMan Task Group Vice Chair: Changhoi Koo <mailto:chkoo@samsung.com>
- IEEE 802.16 Working Group Chair: Roger Marks <mailto:marks@nist.gov>